#RelevantThursday Recap

I’ll confess, I’m kind of a Twitter addict. All of that information in tiny, bite-size pieces, coming right to my phone wherever I’m at? I’m probably more plugged-in than I should be, but oh well. Last year I realized that I was using my @RiverCityImages Twitter account for pretty much anything, personal and business. In a weak attempt to try to even things out, I decided to dedicate Thursdays to relevant information from the imaging world. I was always reading information about new gear, techniques and just interesting news from the photography industry, so why not share it with my millions (ok, maybe not millions) of followers? A good many of them are photographers, videographers, designers and artists. Surly something that I post may be of interest to them, right? From the clicks that I get on the links I provide every Thursday, I’d say so!

This week I am going to try something new. Sure, there is a #RelevantThursday hashtag for searching everything that I post on Twitter, but I thought a weekly recap of the information here on the blog would also allow me to share my thoughts and opinions about the articles that I post.

So here we go. The first ever #RelevantThursday recap!

8:00am – The 2014 National Geographic Photography Contest is happening, but the deadline is quickly approaching. For all you NatGeo would-be superstars, head over to The Atlantic to see some of the images in the running this year, as well as a link to the information for submitting your work. Stunning photography, as usual.

9:00am – So it turns out that Britain has an American Air Museum. Who knew? They are looking for assistance to identify some of the Americans in these photos. Why don’t you take the jump, spread the word, and see if you can help out?

10:00am – More photos from The Atlantic. This time of the eruption of Japan’s Mount Ontake. Can you imagine being one of those climbers? Nope.

11:00am – The good folks over at Imaging Resource give us this interview with Jeremy Grey about the art of capturing an aurora. It’s pretty cool so check it out!

12:00pm – Boston Dot Com gives us a look into the Hong Kong protests. As always, photojournalists have my awe and admiration. Take a look.

1:00pm – It seems like Sony is changing the game with it comes to video. Here is a short film done at night using the insane ISO ranges on the Sony A7S camera and the moon for lighting. Seriously, this is pretty awesome.

2:00pm – HOWEVER, my video peeps shouldn’t get too excited about that Sony. It seems that with the Shogun, you can only get 8-bit. I don’t claim to know much about the wonderful world of video production, I only dabble, but even I know that isn’t as good as it could be.

3:00pm – Crazy photos from the Alberta Tar Sands… I had no clue this was even a thing.

4:00pm – I’m a Nikon girl. The release of three new full-frame DSLRs this year has me jumping up and down, trying to decide what RCI’s upgrade should be. Here are some sample images from the D750. Meh, I wasn’t terribly impressed? Maybe I’ll get my hands on one and take it for a test drive before I make my decision.

5:00pm – Another look at the Nikon D750, this time for the video capabilities. Again, I don’t do video work, I just dabble here and there as a way to enhance some of my clients’ experiences. This video is on par with my D300, at least, that’s what it looks like to me. But again, I’m no expert.

And there you have all of the news that caught my eye from this last week. Feel free to comment, share and discuss!

Leave a Reply

